PR Week Flip Video Critique

I want to begin by expressing that I know it is impossible to use a Flip and expect to capture the same quality of visuals and audio that you would by using more hi-tech equipment.

Overall, I think the PR Week Flip video story was okay.  It could have been much worse considering it looks like it was done by an amateur.

The panning done at the beginning of the video was shaky and so fast that it looked blurry and made me dizzy.  I did not see how panning over people was relevant to the topic, other than creating chaos, which would have portrayed the overall atmosphere.

The music that was played, especially at the beginning, sounded cheap.  I can no’t think of any other way to describe it other than, it sounded like an old futuristic track. 

The music that transitioned while showing the runway should have been smoother.  There should not have been any silence in between the tracks.  I would have faded one while already introducing the next.

The visual shots of the runway featured a picture-in-picture, “pip”, like transition, which I think was creative, but could have been used better.  For example,  one of the “pip” boxes was covering up the model walking in the background shot.

It must be very difficult to use your body as a tripod and not move much, especially when talking simultaneously.  However, there were numerous times on the runway, and when interviewing, that people had the top of their heads cut off.  The space that should have been above someone’s head was nonexistent in many shots.

The interview with Jeremy Scott, fashion designer, had audio that was hard to hear.  The background noise was too loud at some points and impossible to drowned out and tune in on what he was saying.  The top of Scott’s head was cut off, but I understand that if you want to get close enough to be able to hear what the person is saying you might lose the nice visual you want.  I would have tried to get him in a quieter area if at all possible.

The interview with Paul Wilmot, CEO, Paul Wilmot Communications, had bad lighting.  His silhouette was dark and reddish.  I would have wanted the person I was interviewing to not look discolored so I would have found a spot with better lighting.  Also, it was obvious in comparison that by the end of the interview the recorder had zoomed in.  Zooming should not be done, especially by amateur photographers, and videographers.

Fashion week must have been so intense and fast-paced that it would have been difficult to find enough shots to make a short video.  Considering all the distractions and circumstances, I think the video was done pretty well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment